Blogging · Lifestyle

How I Study – Tips & Tricks

How I Study

As a student I always try to find ways to actually help me study quicker and easier, finish anything assigned and enjoy my free time walking around the city or writing my blog. My 8th and last semester has already started about 3 weeks now and projects and homework is coming my way.

Using tips and tricks (not cheating tricks, though) and a specific schedule while studying have proved very beneficial for me as I stay focused and interested throughout my study session. Here are some of them I use the most. I hope they help you as well, not only in your school or college but your work too.

Disclaimer: All the information provided on this blog is for entertainment and informational purposes only. I am not providing medical, legal or other professional advice. When the reader is in doubt, they should seek help from a professional.

Tip #1: Start your studying early enough

This is maybe the most important one for me. When I was in middle school, I used to start my studying for a test, about 2-3 days before. Obviously, I failed… The latest years I actually start my studying at least 3 weeks before and I have time to do everything.
Trick: Separate your studying material in sections or chapters and assign each part to a separate day of studying. Try to leave some days in between and at the end for reviewing the material you studied.

Tip #2: Use the Pomodoro technique

It’s never good to study for 3 hours straight and then needing an hour-long break to help you stay sane. I’ve tried it and after the break I refused to continue any type of studying. So break the studying time in parts of 25 minutes with 5 minutes break after each part. It is healthier and more efficient as it helps you understand the material faster.
Trick: For more things accomplished every time, I use the Pomotodo app which is the pomotoro technique and a to-do list side by side.

Tip #3: Keep away all distractions

No one can concentrate on their work when everything keeps ringing around them. So, do yourself a big favor and turn off any electronic device that may distract you. It really helps, you will see.

Tip #4: Have healthy snacks around you

If you’re studying for a quite big amount of time, you’ll definitely need food and drinks. Having around fruits, vegetables (e.g carrots) and water, juice or tea will keep you full and also concentrated since you don’t have to go to the kitchen to get them.
Trick: Did you know that working out actually helps the brain function better and at higher rates? Try working out in your free time and I promise your studying will be easier.

Tip #5: Change your studying environment

Studies have shown that changing your surroundings, help your mind absorb more easily new stuff. So maybe, if you study in a different room for one day you might remember more material. Try the kitchen, the garden or even a park near your house. I know this has helped me many times.
Trick: However, avoid studying in your bed as your brain relates it with sleep and you will start to be drowsy in no time.

Were these tips useful? Do you use any other tips or tricks you want to share?

Talk to you later, Ella

 

Leave a Reply

